How to live in a valley

VISIT THE NEW SYMPHONY OF HEAVEN BLOG

If you are like me, you know what valleys are. You also know how unavoidable they seem and how they suck the life out of you. I’ll be honest and admit I have ‘allowed’ them to get the better of me way too many times. It was only much later that I realised, how I feel is how I have ‘allowed’ myself to feel. Your situations don’t live inside of you. They only influence you.

I have gradually developed a list of practical things which I intentionally do now when I am in trouble. Don’t want to say I’m 100% cured, but this has helped me a lot in getting through difficult times. Here are some of them :

The trust issue : Trust is our only medicine when we are in a valley. Difficult situations are really a test of our trust than it is anything else.

How would you know if you are trusting God?

Rest portrays trust.

Whenever I see myself controlled by fear, anxiety, discouragement, hopelessness, I know I am not trusting God enough. Where there is faith, fear cannot exist. God is too good to do you any harm and too wise to make a mistake. Develop a habit of trusting God 100% with your life.

Do exactly the opposite : Thanks to Bill Johnson for this one. I learned this one from a podcast and I must say this is a real good weapon. This is how it works :

If you feel like questioning God, start praising Him.

If you feel like lying down weeping, start rejoicing, start jumping and declaring God’s goodness.

Do exactly the opposite of what you feel like doing when you are under the influence of whatever is troubling you. This is not ignoring reality or being unreal, it is declaring that there is a superior reality of who you are which is placed higher than anything else.

Make a list :

Make a list of what God has done for you. Write down everything you can remember that made you stand in awe of God’s goodness. Remembering what God has done in the past is a great way to remind you what He will do, yet again.

Live, not survive :

A big mistake I have made and I have seen many people fall into is being in a valley trying to survive and not live. We are not designed to be in survival mode. Do not look at valleys as lost time, bad luck or any of that sort of beliefs.

Your life does not take a pause when you are in a valley. I am convinced that there is never a time when God is not intimately acquainted with whats happening in your life. I have learned some of the greatest lessons and had some of the most meaningful encounters with God during tough times. There are so many amazing songs we sing today that were written during a tough phase in the songwriters life. You can create even in a valley. It could be the most constructive season of your life.

Hold your head up high and live like a child of God even during challenging times. Do what you need to do and do not give up on your dream. Survival is not your goal, place your eye on the greater glory thats ahead of you.

Do you have anything to share that has helped you live victoriously in valleys?

VISIT THE NEW SYMPHONY OF HEAVEN BLOG for more!

Leave a Reply

